Most African countries have recognized and adopted more than one city within its territory as capital city for administrative convenience, historical ties and to maintain political balance between key ethnic sub nationals. Some of these peculiar countries are:

1. South Africa 🇿🇦 :

South Africa has three capital cities: Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial).

The reason South Africa has three capitals is in part the result of its political and cultural struggles as a result of the influence of apartheid. A compromise was reached to spread a balance of power throughout the country and this led to the current capital cities.
South Africa is the only country in the world with three capital cities
2. Ivory Coast 🇨🇮:

This country has two capital cities: Yamoussoukro and Abidjan. Yamoussoukro is the political capital where the president and the parliament are based. Abidjan is the economic capital where most of the population and business activities are concentrated.

The decision to relocate the capital from Abidjan to Yamoussoukro was made in 1983 by President Félix Houphouët-Boigny, who was born in Yamoussoukro.

Iivory Coast
3. Tanzania 🇹🇿 :

Tanzania has two capital cities: Dodoma and Dar es Salaam.

Dodoma has been the official capital of Tanzania since 1974, but the transfer of government functions from Dar es Salaam is still ongoing. Dodoma is located in the central region of Tanzania and has a population of about 410,000 people.

Dar es Salaam is the former capital and the largest city of Tanzania. It is located on the eastern coast of Tanzania and has a population of over six million people. It is also the main economic and financial center of Tanzania, as well as an important cultural and historical hub.
4. Eswatini 🇸🇿 :

This country has two capital cities: Mbabane and Lobamba. Mbabane is the administrative capital and the largest city in the country.

Lobamba is the traditional, legislative, and royal capital of Eswatini. The dual capital system reflects the country’s historical and cultural traditions, as well as its colonial history and geographical features.
5. Burundi 🇧🇮 :

This country has two capital cities: Gitega and Bujumbura. Gitega is the political capital where the government and various official institutions are located. Bujumbura is the economic capital where the main port and airport are situated.

The move from Bujumbura from Gitega was announced in 2018 by President Pierre Nkurunziza, who claimed it was a fulfillment of a promise made by the country's former kings.